Mount Vernon Statement – A New Conservative Outline

By: Alan C,

CPAC 2010 (Conservative Political Action Conference) begins today, Feb. 18th and concludes Feb. 20th. On the eve of this conference, a group of Republicans have authored a new conservative set of principles called the Mt. Vernon document. Edwin Meese III is one of the authors. This document is an update of the Sharon Statement written by William F. Buckley Jr. and others published on Sept. 11, 1960. The new document is written at a time when the conservative base is splintered by the Tea Party.

CPAC 2010 includes a roster of many conservative politicians and entertainers. Some of the speakers include: Hon. Dick Armey, Hon. John Ashcroft, Rep. Michele Bachmann, Glenn Beck, Amb. John Bolton, Andrew Breitbart, Herman Cain, Tucker Carlson, Liz Cheney, Ann Coulter, Sen. Jim DeMint, Hon. Newt Gingrich, David Keene, Wayne LaPierre, Rep. Ron Paul, Gov. Tim Pawlenty, Rep. Mike Pence, Rep. Tom Price, Hon. Mitt Romney, Hon. Marco Rubio, Hon. Rick Santorum, Hon. J.C. Watts, and George F. Will.

To continue reading:

No comments yet - you can be the first!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.